Safe Zone

When you see this symbol in someone’s office door or in his/her office, it means that the person is safe zone trained and is empathetic and informed about gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and questioning (GLBTQ) issues and is willing to provide support, information, and confidentiality.

Haywood Community College is a participant in the Safe Zone program and seeks to create a climate of safety for all members of the college community.

Safe Zone Allies at Haywood Community College

         
Safe Zone Ally Title Email Address Telephone # Office
Angie Uhl-Kalev Counselor auhl-kalev@haywood.edu 828.627.4504 1532
Carla Woody Instructor-ABE/GED cwoody@haywood.edu 828.565.4188 373
Dawn Cusick Instructor-Biology

dcusick@haywood.edu

   
Debbie Rowland Academic & Career Counselor drowland@haywood.edu 828.627.4646 1531
Emma Dechant Coordinator of Experiential Learning edechant@haywood.edu 828.627.3613 1536
Erica Vaughn Foundation Associate emvaughn@haywood.edu 828.627.4170 112
Greg McLamb Lead Instructor-History gmclamb@haywood.edu 828.627.4659 334
Heather Cyre Librarian hmcyre@haywood.edu 828.565.4083 250
John Sherman Department Chair, Natural Resources jsherman@haywood.edu 828.627.4626 303
John Weatherford Instructor-Accounting

jweatherford@haywood.edu

828.565.4024 236
Karen Denney Vice President of Business Operations denney@haywood.edu > 828.627.45469 1540
Katherine Greysen Instructor - Communications krgreysen@haywood.edu    
Kim Carver Learning Support Services Technician kkcarver@haywood.edu 828.565.4217 335A
Lori Farrell Accounts Payable lfarrell@haywood.edu 828.627.4604 1545
Lynn Jefferys Instructor-AHS & GED bljefferys@haywood.edu 828.627.4643 372
Marc Lehmann Instructional Technology Specialist mlhemann@haywood.edu 828.565.4025 227
Margaret Studenc Developmental Education Department Chair

mstudenc@haywood.edu

828.627.4688 336
Marlowe Mager Coordinator of Research & Institutional Effectiveness mmager@haywood.edu 828.565.4077 241
Matt Heimburg Program Manager, English and Humanities mheimburg@haywood.edu 828.627.4579 329
Michael Youngwood Instructor-Nursing mayoungwood@haywood.edu 828.627.4694 923
Misty Greenarch Campus Safety Services mgreenarch@haywood.edu

828.627.4514

828.734.5410

1501
Patricia Smith Coordinator of Adult Education psmith@haywood.edu 828.627.4618 379
Ryn Hayes Instructor-English

cbhayes@haywood.edu

   
Sara Martin Instructor-Biology, Arts & Gen. Education smartin@haywood.edu 828.627.4681 343
Sharon Childers Recruiter shchilders@haywood.edu 828.565.4094 1500
Sherri Myers Director of Institutional Advancement symyers@haywood.edu 828.627.4544 111
Stephanie Wampler Instructor-English swampler@haywood.edu 828.565.4209 209
Steve Wampler Instructor-Psychology sewampler@haywood.edu 828.624.3614 324
Steven Heulett Department Chair-Arts & General Education sheulett@haywood.edu 828.627.4575 325
Susan Roberts Instructor, Learning Support Services sroberts@haywood.edu 828.565.4218 339
Tina Lee Instructor-Math tlee@haywood.edu 828.627.4574 347

Resources

Freedlander Learning Resource Center

Safe Zone Training

Friday, Septmber 19, 2014 at 1 PM in 1525

HCC Safe Zone Training Manual

Haywood Community College is committed to equality of educational opportunity and does not discriminate against applicants, students, or employees on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, gender, age, disability, or sexual orientation.