Haywood Community College, the only institution of higher education in Haywood County, is part of the North Carolina Community College System (NCCCS). The NCCCS, the third largest community college system in the country, is made up of 58 institutions across the State serving more than 800,000 students.

The NCCCS is the primary agency for job training, literacy, and adult education in the State. Committed to quality, convenient learning opportunities based on individual and community needs, it provides the State with a well-trained workforce that meets the needs of employers and helps to attract new and expanding industry. The System offers a wide range of accessible, low-cost programs for any adult who wants to learn.

The State Board of Community Colleges, a 21-member body appointed by the Governor and General Assembly, has the authority to adopt and administer all policies, regulations, and standards it deems necessary to operate the System. At the local level, each of the colleges operates under a board of trustees.

The Board is composed of a minimum of twelve citizens from the service area in which the college is located. The president or chairman of the student body serves as an ex officio member. Local board members are appointed for staggered four-year terms. Four members each are elected by the local school board and the board of commissioners of the administrative area of the institution. Four members are appointed by the Governor. The board of trustees sets local policy. The local board elects and the State Board approves selection of each college’s president. The president operates the college within state policies and policies adopted by the local trustees. Administrative decisions, such as employment of faculty members, are made by the president. All personnel employed at the colleges are employees of the college and not of the State of North Carolina.

This page was last modified on Tuesday, July 17, 2012 at 02:08 PM