PHONE: 627-4521

DATE: 5-10-2000


Haywood Community College Holds Induction Ceremony for Charter Chapter of the National Vocational-Technical Honor Society

In a recent candlelight induction ceremony, forty one top Haywood Community College students were pinned as new members of HCC’s charter chapter of the National Vocational-Technical Honor Society (NV-THS). As family and friends watched in support, the new members were recognized for outstanding scholastic achievement, workforce excellence and overall leadership potential.

NV-THS, a non-profit, educational organization, was founded in 1984 to reward excellence in vocational and technical education. It has established chapters in all 50 states across the country and has even begun to set up chapters in countries outside the U.S.

To qualify, each student must have and maintain a minimum grade-point average of 3.3 on a 4.0 scale. From those qualifying individuals, faculty members from each vocational program at HCC selected the top performing students based on demonstrated workforce potential. Upon membership, students receive a certificate, their membership pins, special regalia for graduation attire, and three letters of recommendation from the Honor Society to assist with employment and further educational endeavors

Programs that offered candidates for membership included: forestry management, nursing, automotive systems, criminal justice, medical assisting, fish and wildlife management, cosmetology, machining technology, horticulture, office systems technology, autobody repair, early childhood education, building construction technology, business administration, electronics engineering and manufacturing engineering technologies, information systems, wood products, professional crafts: clay, fiber, wood, and jewelry.

Following the induction ceremony, new student members and their family and friends enjoyed refreshments and congratulations by the faculty and staff of Haywood Community College.

Students inducted into the society included the following: Automotive Systems—Waylon Genis, Stanley Hannah, James McClure. Building Construction Technology—Jared Sharp, Jacqueline Weiks. Business Administration— Deborah Hall, Angela King, Sharon Lanning, Cheryl Phifer, Pamala Wagner. Criminal Justice—Christopher Montgomery, Mark Mease. Early Childhood Education—Robin Justice, Dawn Hyatt. Electronics Engineering Technology—Brandi Duggan, Keith Free, Tony Hawkins, Joe Phillips, Michael Shuler. Fish and Wildlife Management Technology—James Butler, Greg Cox, Michael Fuller. Forest Management Technology—Shannon Aiken. Horticulture Technology—Victoria Heatherly, Robert Jordan, Gaelyn Evangreene. Information Systems Technology—Patricia Branning, Rosalee Miller, Juanita Brady. Machining Technology—Jacob Leatherwood, Brian Teaster, Angela Buchanan, Jason Gregory, Phillip Heatherly. Manufacturing Engineering Technology—Jordan Taylor. Nursing—Laura Barton, Nan Stockton. Office Systems Technology—Annette Crouch, Kristie Holcombe, Kendra Medford. Professional Crafts—Wood—James Bumgardner, Josh Kuhlman.