PHONE: 627-4521

DATE: 10-17-00


Haywood Community College Holds Induction Ceremony for the National Vocational-Technical Honor Society

In a recently held candlelight induction ceremony 26 top Haywood Community College students were pinned as new members of HCC’s chapter of the National Vocational-Technical Honor Society (NV-THS). As family and friends watched in support, the new members were recognized for outstanding scholastic achievement, workforce excellence and overall leadership potential.

NV-THS, a non-profit, educational organization, was founded in 1984 to reward excellence in vocational and technical education. It has established chapters in all 50 states across the country and has even begun to set up chapters in countries outside the U.S.

To qualify, each student must have and maintain a minimum grade-point average of 3.3 on a 4.0 scale. From those qualifying individuals, faculty members from each vocational program at HCC selected the top performing students based on demonstrated workforce potential. Upon membership, students receive a certificate, their membership pins, special regalia for graduation attire, and three letters of recommendation from the Honor Society to assist with employment and further educational endeavors

Programs that offered candidates for membership included: forestry management, nursing, automotive systems, criminal justice, medical assisting, fish and wildlife management, cosmetology, machining technology, horticulture, office systems technology, autobody repair, early childhood education, building construction technology, business administration, electronics engineering and manufacturing engineering technologies, information systems, wood products, professional crafts: clay, fiber, wood, and jewelry.

A reception was held following the induction ceremony.

Students who were inducted into the honor society this fall included Timothy Bauchman, Brandy Brown, Brian Browning, Jason Burke, Melissa Byrnes, Debbie Carpenter, Lisa Cogdill, Kimberly Forrest, Diana Garlough, Shane Green, Nicholas Gregg, Lisa Heatherly, Edith Jenkins, Arpad Lazar, Tammy Lambert, Michael Leatherwood, Jimmy Lowman, John McGuire, James Miller, Wayne Moore, Gwen Norris, Allison Plemmons, Tiffany Pofahl, Jaime Riddle, Matthias Russell, Christie Schreiber, Heather Sciarratta, Renee Testerman, and Laura Wood.