Haywood Community College students Kira Lee Farrington and Deana Marie Manier, both of Waynesville, recently were awarded scholarships from the State Employees Credit Union Foundation. The Foundation established this two-year scholarship program to assist North Carolina Community College System students in achieving academic success.

 Two scholarships per school totaling up to $5000 each are awarded to students who best exemplify the SECU philosophy of “People Helping People,” and have demonstrated leadership, excellence of character, integrity, and community involvement. Preference is given to students whose parents , guardians, or family members are public sector employees that live and work in North Carolina. 

Kira Lee Farrington is completing prerequisites at HCC to be eligible for the nursing program. She is a Certified Nursing Assistant on the med/surg floor at Haywood Regional Medical Center. “It has been my dream since I was seven years old to be a nurse,” she explains. “Seeing people smile and knowing you’re making a difference has got to be the best feeling in the world.”

Deana Marie Manier also trained as a CNA while a student at Tuscola High School. She plans to transfer to a university and eventually become a neuron-surgeon. “I love being in a hospital and knowing everyday that I have helped someone,” she says.

Kelley Jean Hoglen received the SECU Foundation scholarship for the 2006-2007 school year. She is pursuing a degree in cosmetology. Hoglen decided to return to school after the birth of her son to make a better life for him.

Pictured left to right back row are Dean Trader, HCC Assistant Coordinator of Financial Aid; Kathy Lovedahl, HCC Director of Financial Aid; Steve Kirton, SECU Board Member; Angela McFarland, SECU Vice President/City Executive, and Kelley Jean Hoglen, 2006-2007 SECU Foundation scholarship recipient and HCC student. Front row left to right are the 2007-2008 SECU Foundation scholarship recipients and HCC students Kira Lee Farrington and Deana Marie Manier.